ESAFORM Scientific Prize

ESAFORM Scientific Prize

The ESAFORM Scientific Prize is awarded annually.

The prize is 2.000 Euros. It intends to recognize a young scientist, who has brought an outstanding contribution in the field of materials forming. This contribution may be either theoretical, or experimental, or both. It may concern any kind of materials (metals, polymers, composites, ceramics, glass, concrete, food materials…) and any forming process (rolling, forging, sheet forming, casting, machining, extrusion, injection moulding, blow moulding…).The excellence of the candidate will be evaluated on following points:

  • Quality of the scientific work confirmed by publications
  • International networking
  • Leadership of a research team
  • Research not only focused on a single topic
  • Balanced activities: academic work, research projects         

    More information

The scientists awarded are the following:

2021 - No scientific prize was awarded this year

2020 - Dr. Junhe Lian, Aalto University, Finland

2019 - Prof. Benjamin Klusemann, Leuphana University Lüneburg, Germany

2018 - Dr. Antonello Astarita, University of Naples “Federico II”, Italy

2017 - No scientific prize was awarded this year

2016 - Prof. Swantje Bargmann, Hamburg University of Technology, Hamburg, Germany

2015 - Dr. Lukasz Madej, University of Science and Technology, Krakow, Poland

2014 - Dr. Tuncay Yalçinkaya, Oxford University, UK

2013 - Dr. Gianluca Buffa, University of Palermo, Italy

2012 - No scientific prize was awarded this year

2011 - Ricardo Alves de Sousa, University of Aveiro, Portugal; Domenico Umbrello, University of Calabria, Italy

2010 - No scientific prize was awarded this year

2009 - Amine Ammar, University of Grenoble, France

2008 - Laurent Delannay, UC Louvain, Belgium

2007 - Luigino Filice, University of Calabria, Italy

2006 - Elias Cueto, University of Zaragoza, Spain; Jose Luis de Carvalho Martins Alves, University of Minho, Portugal

2005 - Dr. Pierre-Olivier Bouchard, CEMEF, France

2004 - Thierry Barrière, University of Franche Comté, France

2003 - Andrew Long, University of Nottingham, UK

2002 - Eduardo Car, CIMNE, Spain

2001 - Rui L. Reis, University of Minho, Portugal; André Luciani, Péchiney, France, 2nd prize

2000 - Francisco Chinesta, CNAM, France; Jean-Marie Drezet, EPFL, Switzerland, 2nd prize

1999 - Luis Filipe Menezes, University of Coimbra, Portugal

All of them have contributed to one of the ESAFORM Bulletin issues, presenting their achievements.